Stupid is as stupid says (Alternative title: Hating the Internet and strangling bloggers)

537193475_e33e5dd8b9_m

More questionable quotes from yours truly.

I’ve been interviewed a couple of times now on new media and how journalists might continue doing investigative and enterprise reporting in a news environment wrought with cutbacks and layoffs.

One of those recent interviews was with PBS’ NewsHour with Jim Lehrer for an online segment on the future of investigative journalism. The reporter was following the discussion at the Investigative Reporters and Editors conference held last month in Baltimore, Md.

Anyway, I agree to be interviewed and, as is my style, I try to be funny. (I always forget that my attempts at humor are always hit or miss. And, frankly, mostly miss. If jokes had a batting average I’d be Bill Bergen.)

So during the interview I try to make fun of the fact that I wish I could still be working newspaper gig at The Denver Post or The Tennessean  in those papers’ golden ages instead of running a journalism non-profit outfit whose future is uncertain.

Here’s one quote that sounded funny in my head at the time: “I wish the Internet had never happened.”

I also alluded to strangling bloggers who put me out of a job.

Ha, ha. Get it?

Funny.

Ugh.

Sorry bloggers. Oh, and sorry Mr. Internet, whom I now rely on for my complete livelihood.

Dunce photo courtesy of I like’s Flickr photostream via the Creative Commons license.
One response to “Stupid is as stupid says (Alternative title: Hating the Internet and strangling bloggers)

  1. “Anyway, I agree to be interviewed and, as is my style, I try to be funny. (I always forget that my attempts at humor are always hit or miss…)”

    I didn’t even have to read the rest before my mind went to MISS MISS MISS!!!

Leave a Reply

